Skip to content

coming back to God.

September 9, 2011


Pslam38 of David. A petition.
 1 LORD, do not rebuke me in your anger
   or discipline me in your wrath.
2 Your arrows have pierced me,
   and your hand has come down on me.
3 Because of your wrath there is no health in my body;
   there is no soundness in my bones because of my sin.
4 My guilt has overwhelmed me
   like a burden too heavy to bear.
 5 My wounds fester and are loathsome
   because of my sinful folly.
6 I am bowed down and brought very low;
   all day long I go about mourning.
7 My back is filled with searing pain;
   there is no health in my body.
8 I am feeble and utterly crushed;
   I groan in anguish of heart.
 9 All my longings lie open before you, Lord;
   my sighing is not hidden from you.
10 My heart pounds, my strength fails me;
   even the light has gone from my eyes.
11 My friends and companions avoid me because of my wounds;
   my neighbors stay far away.
12 Those who want to kill me set their traps,
   those who would harm me talk of my ruin;
   all day long they scheme and lie.
 13 I am like the deaf, who cannot hear,
   like the mute, who cannot speak;
14 I have become like one who does not hear,
   whose mouth can offer no reply.
15 LORD, I wait for you;
   you will answer, Lord my God.
16 For I said, “Do not let them gloat
   or exalt themselves over me when my feet slip.”
 17 For I am about to fall,
   and my pain is ever with me.
18 I confess my iniquity;
   I am troubled by my sin.
19 Many have become my enemies without cause
   those who hate me without reason are numerous.
20 Those who repay my good with evil
   lodge accusations against me,
   though I seek only to do what is good.
 21 LORD, do not forsake me;
   do not be far from me, my God.
22 Come quickly to help me,
   my Lord and my Savior.

A pslam of David
Now you know why this guy was called a man after Gods own heart
David eventually became someone whom God frequently spoke with and favoured.
Look how he serenades God to help him out of his distress.
Crying out for salvation
With remorse and serious intent in his heart
If only when we know we have done wrong we can come before God like this.
Same he cried out for God to create in him a clean heart and renew a right spirit within him.
righteousness exalts a nation but sin is a reproach to any people.
David cries out to God even to save him from those who seek to repay his good with evil.
By the end of his life David had become a man who made decisions and told God and God went along with his plans.
That is what happens when you school yourself before God in humility and empty yourself of all that you are..
Knowing that he will not turn back a contrite heart
A broken spirit he will not despise.
When you truly show God that you have nothing and you are nothing
He knows you are serious about him stepping in and he does.

pray the pslam as a prayer today.
Lord I wait for you and I know you will answer me.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

