Skip to content

greater than a sparrow

September 5, 2011
who feeds the birds

who feeds the birds

Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing?
Yet none of them falls to the ground without the will of the heavenly father.
And even the very hairs of your head are numbered
Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows.
Matthew10:29-31

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?
Matthew6:26

Psalm 147:9 He provides food for the cattle and for the young ravens when they call.

There is something about music..
That strengthens my belief and the word of God that says in heaven there is singing and dancing forever more
With a choir of angels and beautiful music.
Like how God loves music and worship and inhabits the praises of his people he gives inspiration for the loveliest of melodies to be written down here on earth to the glory of his name.
Something like the verses of todays scripture which formed the theme of the hymn written by civillia martins in 1905 the lyrics of which are below
Such a long time ago.
Food for thought –
That the problems you face today or the challenges you have are not new.
Like the ecclesiastical preacher Solomon would say
“there is nothing new under the sun”
How we worry and fret.
How we disturb ourselves with the things even the birds flying about in the air do not bother about
Its amazing if you ever stop to think how God has perfected creation in such a way that the birds don’t have to work for a living or for shelter they don’t pay house rent..
They have food provided for them by God..
He feeds them and houses them..giving them the ability to use blades of grass to make a home for themselves
Then you who was made in the very image of God.
That means God knows it all
Every cell in your body
And hair..the strands of your hair
How could you come to harm.
You who has been made higher than angels
That the angels minister to
The angels seek to understand the mysteries of the spirit which have been made known to you.
You whose every hair has been counted
If that can’t trip you
what will?
Imagine birds how cheap they are
If you had to buy one for a pet
And if a bird had to die God would be in the know
Could your life be exchanged for the same ammount?
You who have been redeemed by the blood of the lamb of God
The precious and holy one of Israel
Worried..thinking..pouring out precious tears
With visions of a dim future blurring your eyes
Why?

Then you sit and all you can tell yourself is that there is no hope for you.
Rise above that situation
Rise above depression
His eye is on the sparrow dear one
You should know if he values the birds
He values you..
His split image
A mother cannot abandon a suckling child
He can not abandon you.
Your end has not come
Your beginning is only now
The end of a matter shall be greater than the beginning thereof
How could you think your best days are gone?
How could you put your head down in dejection
And watch tears that have been counted by God roll down your cheeks..

You are greater than the sparrow
Bigger than a bear
More threatening than a lion
Richer than a bee
Wiser than the ant.
His eye is upon you.

Civillia martin. 1905
Why should I feel discouraged,/Why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart feel lonely/And long for Heav’n and home,
When Jesus is my portion?/A constant Friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He watches over me;
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He watches me.

Refrain:
I sing because I’m happy,/I sing because I’m free,
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He watches me (He watches me)
His eye is on the sparrow/And I know he watches (I know he watches)
(I know he watches me)

I sing because I’m happy,/I sing because I’m free,
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He watches me (He watches me)
His eye is on the sparrow/And I know he watches me (He watches me)
He watches me (I know he watches me)

Verse 2:
“Let not your heart be troubled,”/His tender word I hear,
And resting on His goodness,/I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth/But one step I may see:
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He watches me.

Verse 3:
Whenever I am tempted,/Whenever clouds arise,
When songs give place to sighing,/When hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him,/From care He sets me free:
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He cares for me;
His eye is on the sparrow,/And I know He cares for me


Lord Jesus
I ask you to forgive me if I have ever felt like you didn’t care about me
My heavenly father thank you for reminding me that even when all is gone and lost
My hope is on you.
Your eye is upon the sparrow
I know you watch over me
thank you Lord for the grace to keep my eyes fixed on you.
I know you are watching and guiding every step I make and every thing I do
I reject hopelessness and depression
I know that you will perfect my life in this new week
You will restore all that has been taken from me
All the moths and cankerworms have devoured will be made new
I will have fresh wine in my presses and new meat upon my table
My pockets will be filled day in and out
I will not work for another to inhabit
But rather reap of the fruit of the gentiles
I am victorious over every bad situation
My feet will not stray to danger
And you will keep me from all evil.
Money will meet money in my hands
Surely Lord my cup will run over
I will not be hungry because I am greater than the sparrow.
Thank you father ..
In Jesus name

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

